Moon Phase

The moon is one of the most fascinating celestial objects in the night sky. As it orbits the Earth, it goes through a series of phases that are caused by the changing position of the moon, the Earth, and the sun. These phases are known as the lunar cycle and they repeat every 29.5 days.

The first phase of the lunar cycle is the new moon. During this phase, the moon is positioned between the Earth and the sun, so we cannot see it from Earth. As the moon moves in its orbit, more of its surface becomes illuminated by the sun, and we see the crescent moon. This is followed by the first quarter, the waxing gibbous, and then the full moon.

After the full moon, the moon begins to wane and we see the phases in reverse order: the waning gibbous, the third quarter, and finally the waning crescent before the cycle begins anew with the new moon.

Each phase of the moon has its own unique appearance and significance. For example, the full moon is often associated with mystery and magic, while the new moon is a time for new beginnings and fresh starts. Understanding the phases of the moon can help us connect with the natural rhythms of the universe and appreciate the beauty of the night sky.

Back to blog